About Art Collection Schlichtner

Starting from the beginning of June 2020 the Art Collection Schlichtner has organized online exhibitions and has presentend artworks by Austrian and international artists and from the own art collection. The purpose of this web-site and the exhibition is to make art more accessible and aid the viewer in understanding and experiencing said art. There is plenty of art in storage. Yet we believe that art must be visible to stay alive, and thus we have created this site to fill this need.

Artists who want to increase their reach are in good hands here, and our site offers the opportunity to show artworks “off”gallery and distanced from the art trade. The exhibitions are curated.

Each exhibition will last 1 to 2 months and will be shiftes to the archive in a manner so as to to make room for the new ones, all the while ensuring that all exhibitions will remain visible. We integrate social media and we will make use of our YouTube channel, Instagram and Facebook pages. Everything happens in consultation with the artist and photo credit providers.

The Art Collection Schlichtner started to collect art in 2002 with objects that were set up in public spaces. Many artworks could be preseved in this manner.  Close aquaintances and friendships with the artists were often the result of this approach. Many of these artworks set in public space were made by Christian Eisenberger and thanks to him we started to being interested in art to the degree I began studying for a degree in art history. The objects from public space were the foundation stone of the collection. Streetart and graffiti artists were the initial focal point. There was first the Vienna-based gallery “Inoperable” where we bought works of Keramik, Busk, Nychos, El Lasso, Die Made, Smurf, Emil One, monochrom and C215. Many years later the collections was extended by works of Christian Eisenberger, Jonathan Meese, Begi Guggenheim, Amiko Kamikaze, les tardes goldscheyder, Stinkfish, Thomas Gegner, Margareta Klose, Arianna ElleroMonika Böhme-Sauter, Martin Dickinger, Aklima Iqbal, Sagar Sarkar and Susan Lisbin. 

When a gallerist in Vienna told us in 2017 that art is a very delicate thing, and that only once in a decade could he provide exhibition space for a new artist, I was quite surprised, considering the hundrets of art students graduating from art universities. This conversation , among other influencing factors, lead us to begin  to question this exclusivity. The first idea we had was to make all works of the collection visible for everyone – and second also artworks of artists,  which are not in our collection. Due to the corona crisis we decided to launch this web-site “now – or never”. Art is in the spotlight without entry barriers and inhibtion treshholds. You can find it, watch it, receive it, interpret it, as one will.

Click from artwork to artwork and find your favourite! Contact us, if you like an artwork and if you have any questions. We are pleased to forward contact details to artists and their gallery representation in consultation with them. There is no opportunity here to buy art directly but we aim to help to with contact mediation. 

We hope you find what we offer interesting.  Please tell us if you like or dislike something, or if you have a suggestion. You can contact us by e-mail or telephone. We hope that many art lovers and artists meet and enjoy this space we have made, and that you enjoy our presentations!

Art Collection Schlichtner, Vienna, May 2020.